Randwick Guineas

The Randwick Guineas is a $500 000 Group 1 set weights race for three year olds. It is run over 1600m at Randwick every March, although it will be run at Warwick Farm in 2013.
The Randwick Guineas was first run in 2006, replacing the Canterbury Guineas which had been run over 1900m.

The first Canterbury Guineas was run in 1935 when it was won by Hadrian. At that stage, it was run over nine furlongs (1800m) and was run in the spring. Some of the notable early winners included Moorland (1943), Delta (1949), Todman (1957), Persian Lyric (1960), Imagele (1973) and Belmura Lad (1977). In 1979, along with the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) and the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m), the race was shifted to the autumn.

Upon the introduction of metric distances in the 1972-1973 season, the race was increased to 1850m before finally moving to 1900m in 1976 – where it remained until the race was changed in 2006.

In its new position, notable winners included Veandercross (1992), Octagonal (1996), Intergaze (1997), Tycoon Lil (1998), Fairway (2000) and Universal Prince (2001). From 2000 to 2005, the race was run under lights as part of Canterbury’s feature night meeting for the year.

However, the quality of the race began to decline and it was decided to move the race to Randwick from 2006, with the distance reduced to 1600m. This allowed a better lead up to the Rosehill Guineas, while also allowing horses on a Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) path to run in the race.
Since it became the Randwick Guineas, the winners have included Hotel Grand (2006), Mentality (2007), Weekend Hussler (2008), Metal Bender (2009) and Shoot Out (2010). In 2011, Ilovethiscity won the first Randwick Guineas to be held at Warwick Farm, defeating Skilled and Light Brigade, while 2012 saw Mosheen defeat Said Com and Laser Hawk.

Notable, every winner of the Randwick Guineas apart from Ilovethiscity has won at least one other Group 1 race.

The typical lead up to the Randwick Guineas is through the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes (1400m) at Rosehill two weeks before, while the Group 1 Australian Guineas (1600m) is now in a better position to allow horses to run in both races.

It is considered to be part of the Sydney triple crown for three year olds, along with the Rosehill Guineas and the Australian Derby. No horse has won the Randwick Guineas, Rosehill Guineas and Australian Derby treble, while four horses – Moorland (1943), Martello Towers (1959), Imagele (1973) and Octagonal (1996) – won the Canterbury Guineas, Rosehill Guineas and Australian Derby treble.

It is at this point that the program for the colts and geldings separates from the fillies. After this race, the fillies can head to the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes (2000m) before the Group 1 Australian Oaks (2400m).

The Doncaster Mile is another potential target.