Caulfield Cup

Caulfield Racecourse plays host to the Caulfield Cup every year and in 2018 the race will be run on the 21st of October.

The mile and a half race is one of the premier races of the Melbourne Spring Carnival and with a $3 million prize pool it’s also one of the the richest.

The Caulfield Cup is only second behind the Melbourne Cup for the most prestigious event of the year and has attracted many great gallopers from across the globe in the past 20 years.

It was only in 1998 that the race opened entries for international race horses and since then it has become a target for many of the worlds best.

It’s also a key race in the lead up to the Melbourne Cup. Many horses that win or do well in the Caulfield Cup have gone on to succeed in the Melbourne Cup. It’s proven to be a difficult task to complete the double and the last horse to succeed was Ethereal back in 2001.

Caulfield Cup History

There have been many historic moments in the history of the Caulfield Cup. Who could forget that moment in 2007 when Maldivian, the shortest price favourite for 41 years, was a late scratching after injuring himself in the barriers moments before the race. Many have blamed a camera that was positioned in the stalls and the incident remains a talking point 10 years on.

The Caulfield Cup also played host to the worst racing accident to occur in Australia’s history. In the 1885 Cup 15 of the 44 horses fell during the race and tragically 25-year-old jockey Donald Nicolson died as a result of the accident.

Caulfield Cup Odds

When you’re betting on the Caulfield Cup there are many factors that come in to play.

Historically the Cup has always been a difficult race for punters to predict and here are some facts to help you pick a winner.

In the history of the Caulfield Cup there have been 21 mares win the race, the last being Southern Speed in 2011.

Not since 1979 has a 3-year-old won the race and only one 3-year-old filly has won the race, all the way back in 1903.

Not since 1980 has a horse been able to win multiple Caulfield Cups.

View the latest Caulfield Cup Info at

Jameka wins the 2016 Caulfield Cup