Golden Slipper

The Golden Slipper Stakes is a prestigious Group 1 race held each year at Rosehill Racecourse in Sydney. This 1200 metre event for two-year-olds is run under set weight conditions and worth a total of $3,500,000 in prizemoney. The Golden Slipper Stakes has a long history in Australia, with the inaugural event run in 1957.

The Golden Slipper Stakes is the premier two year old race in Australia, and the richest race for two-year olds thoroughbreds in the entire world. While it is not the oldest race in the country by a long margin, the Golden Slipper Stakes has grown up fast to become the showpiece event of the Sydney autumn racing carnival in March and April.

The inaugural event was won by Todman in 1957, sired by the famous Star Kingdom who also sired the next four winners of this event and a number of winners of other big races. A number of notable horses have won the Golden Slipper Stakes over the years, including names like Pierro in 2012, Sepoy in 2011, Miss Finland in 2006, Belle de Jour in 2000, Guineas in 1997, and Bint Marscay in 1993.

If you go back a little further into the history of this event, early winners also include Storm Queen in 1966, Sweet Embrace in 1967, Vain in 1969, Baquette in 1970, Luskin Star in 1977, and Manikato in 1978. The most successful trainer in the history of this great event is T.J. Smith, who won on six different occasions. Gai Waterhouse has won the Golden Slipper five times, with Bart Cummings, Clarry Conners, and Lee Freedman all winning four times.

Being such a prestigious event, there are a number of potential lead-up races for the Golden Slipper at Rosehill Racecourse, including the Group 2 Reisling Slipper Trial, Group 2 Magic Night Stakes for fillies, Group 2 Todman Slipper Trial, and Group 2 Pago Pago Stakes for colts and geldings. The Golden Slipper has been run on the first Saturday in April since 2009, where it shares the bill with the Group 1 The BMW and Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes.