Golden Rose

The Golden Rose is a $1m Group 1 set weights race for three year olds. It is run over 1400m at Rosehill each September.

It is the first Group 1 of the Sydney spring carnival, as well as the richest race in Sydney during the spring.

The Golden Rose was first run in 2003, replacing the Group 2 Peter Pan Stakes (1500m), which was first run in 1978. As the Peter Pan Stakes, it formed the first leg of the Sydney spring triple crown, which also included the Gloaming Stakes and the Spring Champion Stakes.

Horses to win the Peter Pan Stakes included Kingston Town, Best Western, Sir Dapper, Drought, Brave Warrior, Flying Spur and Magic Albert.

The Golden Rose was conceived in 2003 as a link with the Golden Slipper, the (then) Sydney Turf Club’s juvenile feature. An entry in the Golden Slipper grants automatic entry into the Golden Rose. In effect, they were making it a target for potential sprinter-milers, as opposed to a stepping stone to the staying features.

The race lost black type status under its new conditions, but it was quickly elevated to Listed status in 2005, Group 3 status in 2006, Group 2 status in 2008 before being run at the elite level for the first time.

The first running of the Golden Rose saw subsequent Caulfield Guineas winner In Top Swing emerge victorious. However, it was arguably the next three editions which would see the race come of age.

In 2004, it was the Queenslander Doonan who held his rivals at bay. But tucked in behind him were Australian Guineas winner Al Maher (second), Caulfield Guineas winner Econsul (fourth) and Cox Plate winner Savabeel (fifth).

The 2005 running saw Paratroopers defeat eventual Doncaster and Epsom winner Racing To Win (second) and Caulfield Guineas winner God’s Own (fourth), while in 2006, Court Command held off Queensland Derby winner Empires Choice (second), Randwick Guineas winner Mentality (third), Ascot Vale Stakes winner Gold Edition (fourth) and AJC Sires Produce Stakes winner Excites (fifth). Chipping Norton Stakes winners He’s No Pie Eater (10th) and Casino Prince (13th) were among the vanquished.

With the 2007 edition not run due to the outbreak of equine influenza, there were two runnings of the Golden Rose in 2008. The only autumn running of the Golden Rose went to Forensics, to add to her 2007 Golden Slipper. She remains the only winner of the Golden Slipper-Golden Rose double.

Later that year, Duporth won the race, back in its traditional spot on the calendar.
Denman won the first Group 1 Golden Rose in 2009, while Toorak Toff helped to cement the race as a potential stallion-making race when storming to victory in 2010.

The 2011 edition saw a small field with very good quality, with Manawanui defeating Smart Missile, Helmet and Foxwedge, while Epaulette led home a Darley quinella in 2012.

The best lead up race is the Group 2 Run for the Rose (1200m), run at Rosehill two weeks prior, while the Up and Coming Stakes (1300m) and the Silver Shadow Stakes (1200m) at Warwick Farm three weeks before the race are other notable lead up races.

The McNeil Stakes (1200m) at Caulfield has also proven to be a lead up for Melbourne contenders.
From here, horses tend to go to the Group 3 Caulfield Guineas Prelude (1400m) or the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes (1400m) ahead of the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas (1600m).