CF Orr Stakes

The C. F. Orr Stakes is a $400 000 Group 1 weight for age race open to all horses. It is run over 1400m at Caulfield every February. It is currently the first Group 1 race each year.
It holds a very similar role in the autumn to what the Memsie Stakes has in the spring. It tends to bring together horses that are on an Australian Cup-The BMW campaign with those heading to the George Ryder Stakes and Doncaster Mile in Sydney, as well as horses who are in form after a summer campaign that may use fitness to their advantage.
The honour roll of winners shows that this race can be won by a stayer who has residual fitness after a spring campaign. Therefore, it is always a competitive race.
It was first run over eight furlongs (1600m) in 1925 when it was won by The Night Patrol. It became a seven furlong (1400m) race in 1957. It became a Group 2 race upon the introduction of the graded system in 1979, before it was afforded Group 1 status in 1993.
Notable winners include Whittier (1926), Heroic (1927), Gothic (1929), Flight (1946), Comic Court (1951), Rising Fast (1956), Lord (1959, 1960), Wenona Girl (1962), Aquanita (1963), Tobin Bronze (1967), Winfreux (1968), Leilani (1975), Surround (1977), Hyperno (1978), Manikato (1979, 1980, 1981), At Talaq (1987), Vo Rogue (1988, 1989, 1990), Let’s Elope (1992), Jeune (1995), Saintly (1997), Redoute’s Choice (2000), Lonhro (2004) and Elvstroem (2005).
In 2011, Typhoon Tracy won her second Orr Stakes at her final start, defeating Heart of Dreams and Ortensia, while 2012 saw the undefeated Black Caviar win at her first start at 1400m, beating Southern Speed and Playing God.
The better horses generally enter the Orr Stakes fresh, or after one run in either the Group 2 Australia Stakes (1200m) at Moonee Valley or the Listed John Dillon Stakes (1400m) at Caulfield.
From here, there are many options. Those following a weight for age path will typically step up to the Group 2 Peter Young Stakes (1800m) before the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m), while those sticking to mile events can head to the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m). There is also the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) if a drop back in distance is wanted.