Australian Guineas

The Australian Guineas is a $500 000 Group 1 set weights race for three year olds. It is run over 1600m at Flemington every March.

First run as a Group 3 in 1986 when it was won by True Version, it was quickly upgraded to Group 1 status. From 1998 to 2000, the race was run at 2000m, as part of an attempt to replicate the American Triple Crown. It was the third leg of the Australian Triple Crown, preceded by the Group 2 Alister Clark Stakes (1600m) and the Group 2 Autumn Classic (1800m). Gold Guru (1998), Dignity Dancer (1999) and Pins (2000) won the race when it was run over 2000m.

Other notable winners have included Military Plume (1987), King’s High (1989), Zabeel (1990), Triscay (1991), Mahogany (1994), Flying Spur (1996), Dash For Cash (2002), Reset (2004), Apache Cat (2006), Miss Finland (2007), Light Fantastic (2008) and Heart of Dreams (2009).
Fillies have won the last two years. In 2011, Shamrocker came from nowhere to beat Bullbars and Playing God, while Mosheen thrashed her rivals in 2012, defeating Strike The Stars and Mister Milton.

It has been run at Flemington every year apart from 2007, when it was moved to Caulfield due to redevelopment works at headquarters.

The best lead up races are the Group 3 C.S. Hayes Stakes (1400m) for colts and geldings and the Group 3 The Vanity (1400m) for fillies. Some of the better three year olds also come through the Group 1 Futurity Stakes (1400m), while the Group 2 Autumn Stakes (1400m) is another lead up.

From here, Sydney’s middle distance features are a normal target. Races like the Group 1 Randwick Guineas (1600m), the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas (2000m) and the Group 1 Australian Derby (2400m) are a typical progression. Some horses may also step up to the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) a week later. The last horse to run in both the Australian Guineas and the Australian Cup was Playing God, who ran third in both in 2011.