Scott Pendlebury new Brownlow Medal 2014 favourite

Posted by on 9/7/2014
Filled in: AFL

Collingwood’s Scott Pendlebury is the new $3.25 favourite to win the 2014 Brownlow Medal at online bookie following the news former $1.50 favourite Gary Ablett will miss the rest of the AFL season.

BROWNLOW OFFER: get a $700 FREE BET on the Brownlow Medal market

Sportingbet’s AFL analysts estimate that Ablett ($6) has a six vote lead over Pendlebury.

Josh Kennedy ($6.50), Joel Selwood ($13), Trent Cotchin ($15), Dayne Beams ($15) and Travis Boak ($15) are all towards the top of Sportingbet’s market.

“We’ve kept Ablett as our second favourite as everyone except for Pendlebury will most likely need to poll at least another eight votes to beat him, which is considerable with just seven rounds left,” Sportingbet’s Andrew Brown said.

2014 Brownlow Medal Winner market

Scott Pendlebury $3.25

Gary Ablett $6

Josh Kennedy $6.50

Joel Selwood $13

Trent Cotchin $15

Dayne Beams $15

Travis Boak $15

Aaron Sandilands $17

Lance Franklin $21

Matt Priddis $21

Brent Harvey $21

Others $31+

For Sportingbet’s full Brownlow Medal markets visit

See the table below for Sportingbet’s estimated Brownlow Medal vote tally.

Sportingbet’s analysts award half votes when they can’t split certain player performances, a system that has proven to balance out over the course of the season and provide a more accurate prediction of a player’s final vote numbers.

2014 Brownlow Medal

Votes according to Sportingbet’s AFL analysts. Odds from


Player Team Round 16 Votes Overall
Gary Ablett [GC] GC 0 24.5
Scott Pendlebury [COL] COL 0 18.5
Nathan Fyfe [FRE] FRE 2 18
Josh Kennedy [SYD] SYD 0 17.5
Steve Johnson [GEE] GEE 1.5 14
Nathan Jones [MEL] MEL 0 13.5
Brent Harvey [NTH] NTH 1 13.5
Aaron Sandilands [FRE] FRE 0 13
Joel Selwood [GEE] GEE 0 12.5
Matthew Priddis [WCE] WCE 1 12.5
Marc Murphy [CAR] CAR 2 12
Scott Thompson [ADE] ADE 0 11.5
Lance Franklin [SYD] SYD 0 11.5
Trent Cotchin [RIC] RIC 2 11.5
Rory Sloane [ADE] ADE 3 11.5
Dayne Beams [COL] COL 0 11
Jobe Watson [ESS] ESS 0 10.5
Callan Ward [GWS] GWS 0 10.5
Patrick Dangerfield [ADE] ADE 0 10.5
Nick Dal Santo [NTH] NTH 1.5 10.5
Jimmy Bartel [GEE] GEE 0 10
Travis Boak [PTA] PTA 0 10
Tom Liberatore [WBU] WBU 1 10
Michael Barlow [FRE] FRE 1.5 10