Josh Kennedy’s odds slashed in 2014 Brownlow Medal betting

Posted by on 14/7/2014
Filled in: AFL

Sydney’s Josh Kennedy has rocketed in to $4 second favouritism at for the 2014 Brownlow Medal after Scott Pendlebury failed to poll a vote in Round 17, according to Sportingbet’s AFL analysts.

SPECIAL OFFER: $700 FREE BET on any Brownlow Medal market

Only six of the top 20 contenders, including Pendlebury, failed to poll a vote in Round 17.

According to Sportingbet’s running Brownlow medal vote tally, Kennedy has moved to 19.5 votes for the season and 1 vote clear of Pendlebury on 18.5.

The injured Gary Ablett remains clear on 24.5 votes and four ahead of the ineligible Nathan Fyfe.

“We have Fyfe polling 12 votes over the last six weeks and there’s no question he would be the new Brownlow favourite if he was eligible,” Sportingbet’s Andrew Brown said.

“Of those left in contention, Kennedy has now hit the front according to our assessments and if he continues the strong form he showed against Carlton he’s going to be very tough to beat.”

2014 Brownlow Medal Winner market

Scott Pendlebury $3.75 (was $3.25)

Josh Kennedy $4 (was $6.50)

Gary Ablett $6.50 (was $6)

Joel Selwood $10 (was $13)

Travis Boak $14 (was $15)

Trent Cotchin $15 (steady)

Brent Harvey $15 (was $21)

Aaron Sandilands $17 (steady)

Lance Franklin $17 (was $21)

Others $21+

See the table below for Sportingbet’s estimated Brownlow Medal vote tally.

Sportingbet’s analysts award half votes when they can’t split certain player performances, a system that has proven to balance out over the course of the season and provide a more accurate prediction of a player’s final vote numbers.

2014 Brownlow Medal

Votes according to Sportingbet’s AFL analysts. Odds from



Player Team Round 17 Votes Overall Sportingbet Odds
Gary Ablett [GC] GC 0 24.5 $6.50
Nathan Fyfe [FRE] FRE 2.5 20.5 Ineligible
Josh Kennedy [SYD] SYD 2 19.5 $4.00
Scott Pendlebury [COL] COL 0 18.5 $3.75
Steve Johnson [GEE] GEE 2.5 16.5 Ineligible
Brent Harvey [NTH] NTH 1.5 15 $15.00
Joel Selwood [GEE] GEE 2.5 15 $10.00
Matthew Priddis [WCE] WCE 1.5 14 $21.00
Nathan Jones [MEL] MEL 0 13.5 $31.00
Lance Franklin [SYD] SYD 2 13.5 $17.00
Aaron Sandilands [FRE] FRE 0 13 $17.00
Trent Cotchin [RIC] RIC 1.5 13 $15.00
Travis Boak [PTA] PTA 3 13 $14.00
Rory Sloane [ADE] ADE 1 12.5 $31.00
Patrick Dangerfield [ADE] ADE 2 12.5 $31.00
Marc Murphy [CAR] CAR 0 12 $51.00
Scott Thompson [ADE] ADE 0 11.5 $41.00
Dayne Beams [COL]