Joel Selwood’s odds shorten in 2014 Brownlow Medal betting

Posted by on 21/7/2014
Filled in: AFL

Cats captain Joel Selwood has maintained pressure on Josh Kennedy and Scott Pendlebury in the race for the 2014 Brownlow Medal after leading Geelong to a narrow victory over GWS in Round 18.

BROWNLOW OFFER: get a $700 FREE BET on any Brownlow market

Sportingbet’s AFL analysts awarded Selwood 2.5 votes for his performance, which puts him two votes behind Kennedy and just one vote behind Pendlebury in Sportingbet’s running Brownlow Medal vote tally.

Selwood is a $7.50 fourth favourite behind Kennedy ($3.75), Pendlebury ($3.75) and Gary Ablett ($7).

“Kennedy and Pendlebury maintain favouritism as they have a game up their sleeve to put a gap on Selwood while continuing their mission to chase down Ablett,” Sportingbet’s Andrew Brown said.

2014 Brownlow Medal Winner market

Scott Pendlebury $3.75 (steady)

Josh Kennedy $3.75 (was $4)

Gary Ablett $7 (was $6.50)

Joel Selwood $7.50 (was $10)

Travis Boak $15 (was $14)

Brent Harvey $17 (was $15)

Lance Franklin $17 (steady)

Others $21+

See the table below for Sportingbet’s estimated Brownlow Medal vote tally.

Two players have been awarded three votes by Sportingbet’s analysts so far in Round 18, with St Kilda’s Nick Riewoldt and Essendon’s Jake Carlisle both receiving the maximum.

Sportingbet’s analysts award half votes when they can’t split certain player performances, a system that has proven to balance out over the course of the season and provide a more accurate prediction of a player’s final vote numbers.

2014 Brownlow Medal

Votes according to Sportingbet’s AFL analysts. Odds from



Player Team Round 18 Votes Overall Odds
Gary Ablett [GC] GC N/A 24.5 $7.00
Nathan Fyfe [FRE] FRE 0 20.5 Ineligible
Josh Kennedy [SYD] SYD N/A 19.5 $3.75
Steve Johnson [GEE] GEE 2.5 19 Ineligible
Scott Pendlebury [COL] COL N/A 18.5 $3.75
Joel Selwood [GEE] GEE 2.5 17.5 $7.50
Brent Harvey [NTH] NTH 0 15 $17.00
Nathan Jones [MEL] MEL 1 14.5 $31.00
Matthew Priddis [WCE] WCE N/A 14 $21.00
Lance Franklin [SYD] SYD N/A 13.5 $17.00
Aaron Sandilands [FRE] FRE 0 13 $26.00
Trent Cotchin [RIC] RIC N/A 13 $21.00
Travis Boak [PTA] PTA 0 13 $15.00
Rory Sloane [ADE] ADE N/A 12.5 $41.00
Patrick Dangerfield [ADE] ADE N/A 12.5 $31.00
Marc Murphy [CAR] CAR 0 12 $41.00
Scott Thompson [ADE] ADE N/A 11.5 $41.00
Dayne Beams [COL] COL N/A 11 $26.00
Tom Liberatore [WBU] WBU 0 11 $41.00
Callan Ward [GWS] GWS 0.5 11 $101.00