Elizabeth Broderick heads odds to win Australian of the Year 2016

Former Australian Sex Discrimination Commissioner Elizabeth Broderick is the popular pick to be named 2016 Australian of the Year.

Online bookmaker has Ms Broderick as the $2.90 favourite just ahead of South Australian Dr John Greenwood ($3.50), who has been recognised for his work in treating burns victims.

Queensland’s nominee Catherine McGregor is a $4.00 chance, not to be confused with the Northern Territory’s Will Macgregor, who’s the outsider of the group at $16. The third of the ‘Macs’, Julian McMahon, is priced at $11.

“We opened Elizabeth Broderick as the favourite and punters seem to agree with more than half the money invested on the market placed on her,” said’s Christian Jantzen.

Market courtesy of

Australian of the Year

$2.90   Elizabeth Broderick (NSW)

$3.50   John Greenwood (SA)

$4.00   Catherine McGregor (QLD)

$7.50   David Morrison (ACT)

$7.50   Jane Hutchinson (TAS)

$11      Julian McMahon (VIC)

$16      Anne Carey (WA)

$16      Will MacGregor (NT)


* All Offers and Promotions posted in this article excludes NSW residents.

$501 First Deposit Bonus at Sportsbet*

  • Open a new account at Sportsbet - Register Here.
  • Make your very first deposit into your new account.
  • Sportsbet will then match your first bet with Bonus Bet of the same value up to $501* in total!
  • *State exclusions apply to some offers. All Offers Exclude NSW residents.